Thayer, Sylvanus, 1785-1872, USMA 1808 -- Monuments. ; -- United States Military Academy -- Buildings.; --United States Military Academy -- Gymnasium.
Unveiled in June 1883, originally placed in front of the gymnasium, later moved to Plain in front of Superintendent's residence. Quarters of the Professor of Natural and Philosophical Sciences is visible right rear.
Catholic Chapel (United States Military Academy).; Chapels -- New York (State) -- West Point.; United States Military Academy -- Buildings.; Church architecture.
Designed by the New York firm of Hines and LaFarge and built by the Roman Catholic Church, the Most Holy Trinity chapel was opened in 1900. Later additions included a new wing added in the 1930's followed by a further enlargement in the 1960's...
Also known as the West Academic Building, this structure, occupied in 1895 was designed by Richard Morris Hunt utilizing a lighter colored stone and employing design elements from the old library and old barracks.
Designed by McKim, Mead, and White in 1894 and completed in 1898, Cullum Memorial Hall was built with funds donated by General George W. Cullum. Situated on the eastern edge of the Plain, the building was not furnished and dedicated until June...
The Riding Hall, designed by Cram, Goodhue, and Ferguson was completed in 1909. In 1958 it was renamed Thayer Hall and converted to an academic building by adding four interior levels and two additional entrances on its west side.